Blacktown International Sportspark Sydney


powered by

News & Media

O’Keefe returns for Toyota Futures League clash

17 November 2017

NSW and Australian spinner Steve O’Keefe will return to competitive cricket in the Futures League match for NSW Metro against Western Australia at Blacktown International Sports Park, beginning on Monday.

O’Keefe suffered a broken finger playing McDonald’s Premier Cricket last month and has been chosen for the first innings of the four-day match.

The left armer hopes to prove his fitness for the next Blues Sheffield Shield match, against Victoria at North Sydney Oval, beginning on Friday November 24.

O’Keefe will be replaced in the second innings by exciting 21-year-old NSW rookie leg-spinner Dan Fallins, who made a spectacular first class debut against England recently.

Playing in a day/night four-day fixture for a Cricket Australia XI in Adelaide, Fallins took four consecutive English scalps bowling with a pink ball, including captain Joe Root for 58 and opening batsman Mark Stoneman for 61, to finish with 5-73 from 22 overs.

A strong NSW Metro team will be captained by fellow spinner Wil Somerville, who was the Blues’ leading wicket-taker last season with 35 wickets at an average of 23.

Other Blues squad members in the team are fast bowlers Ben Dwarshuis and Charlie Stobo, spinner Arjun Nair and batsman Ryan Gibson while rookies Jordan Gauci, Liam Hatcher and Param Uppal have also been included.

Nic Bertus has been given the opportunity to continue his outstanding start to the season.

He currently has 401 runs at 100.25 in the first five rounds of McDonald’s Premier Cricket, including 206 not out against Bankstown in the last completed round.

Bertus also scored 128 not out for NSW Metro in the opening Futures League match against ACT/NSW Country last month.

NSW Metro squad

Wil SOMERVILLE               ( Eastern Suburbs )

Nic BERTUS                         ( Parramatta )

Josh CLARKE                       ( Hawkesbury )

Ben DWARSHUIS              ( Sutherland )

Daniel FALLINS                  ( Sutherland )    2nd innings

Jordan GAUCI                    ( Hawkesbury )

Ryan GIBSON                     ( Penrith )

Liam HATCHER                   ( Fairfield-Liverpool )

Arjun NAIR                         ( Hawkesbury )

Steve O KEEFE                   ( Manly )              1st innings

Daniel SOLWAY                 ( Bankstown )

Charlie STOBO                   ( Gordon )

Param UPPAL                    ( Fairfield-Liverpool )

  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP
  • Partner Logo - BISP